commissioners and staff
meeting calendar
press releases
contact us
site map
alameda county home page
Rae Louise Hayward, Birds of a Feather, 2003, Oil pastel on paper, 22 x 30 inches.
acac swoosh
about us


The Alameda County Arts Commission (ACAC) is a division of County of Alameda. This civic organization was established in 1965 by ordinance of the Alameda County Board of Supervisors. The Arts Commission acts in an advisory capacity to the Board of Supervisors concerning the arts and cultural environment in the County. The cities and communities of Alameda County include Alameda, Albany, Berkeley, Castro Valley, Dublin, Emeryville, Fremont, Hayward, Livermore, Newark, Oakland, Piedmont, Pleasanton, San Leandro, San Lorenzo, Union City, and other unincorporated areas.

The Arts Commission is comprised of fifteen citizens (three from each of the five districts of Alameda County) appointed by the Board of Supervisors and seven ex-officio members representing three major County departments and four leading Alameda County educational and cultural institutions.

The Alameda County Arts Commission supports all art forms such as music, dance, visual arts, literature, theater, film and video, traditional crafts and folk arts, and new media.

Mission Statement

The Alameda County Arts Commission is dedicated to improving the quality of life in Alameda County by nurturing a thriving environment for the arts and for cultural activities; promoting economic opportunities for Alameda County's artists and arts organizations through programs such as arts grants, public art, and art in education programs; encouraging public participation in the arts and actively advocating for the arts.

The following documents contain additional information about the Alameda County Arts Commission:

> ACAC By-Laws
> Alameda County Public Art Ordinance
> ACAC Strategic Plan

The Alameda County Arts Commission is supported by:

The Alameda County Arts Commission is a division of the County of Alameda. Additional support is provided by the California Arts Council and the National Endowment for the Arts, Foundation for the Arts in Alameda county, East Bay community Foundation, and Alameda County Office of Education's Alliance for Arts Learning Leadership.

alameda county logo, california arts council logo, CAC art license plate, national endowment for the arts logo

Rae Louise Hayward, Birds of a Feather, 2003, Oil pastel on paper, 22 x 30 inches. Artwork is part of the Alameda County Art Collection: Artwork Created by Alameda County Artists.
menu: resources
menu: opportunities
menu: public art
menu: whats new
menu: programs
menu: about us
alameda county arts commission