In Recognition of the Forty-Two Alameda County High School Students Selected to be Arts Scholars at the 2013 California State Summer School for the Arts

WHEREAS, forty-two students from throughout Alameda County have been accepted to the California State Summer School for the Arts, the prestigious State arts program, based on their artistic excellence, and are therefore recognized as the State's most outstanding young artists; and

WHEREAS, the California State Summer School for the Arts enhances the overall cultural community of California by engaging youth in creative studies that encourage critical thinking, collaborative problem solving, and leadership while also encouraging youth to pursue higher education opportunities and contribute to the arts field in California; and

WHEREAS, the California State Summer School for the Arts accepts 500 students annually selected through a highly competitive process from all over the State. Successful candidates demonstrated excellence in the program areas of Animation, Creative Writing, Film, Dance, Music, Theatre and the Visual Arts; and

WHEREAS, the California State Summer School for the Arts is a four-week, intensive pre-college program for outstanding, motivated high school students studying the arts to be held this summer on the campus of the California Institute of the Arts in Valencia, CA. Students are accepted into this program solely based on artistic potential, and scholarships are provided to all students who depend on financial support to participate; and

WHEREAS, the Alameda County Arts Commission is one of thirteen State partners participating in the Arts Scholar Network, a collective of local arts agencies at the county level that are providing essential outreach and recognition support to their regional youth; and

WHEREAS, the Alameda County Board of Supervisors commends the forty-two Alameda County high school students accepted to this prestigious creative arts program:

Anthony Adams of Fremont
Nava Bearson of Berkeley
Marielle Boland of Berkeley
Violet Bryant of Berkeley
Jessica Cao of Fremont
Aidan Casey of Berkeley
William Cayanan of San Leandro
Emily Chan of Fremont
Tyler Ellis of Piedmont
Sophia Emmons Bell of Berkeley
Grant Gadbois of Piedmont
Arianna Gardiner of Castro Valley
Troy Gelobter of Berkeley
Ilana Goldberg of Albany
Jared Hebert of Newark

Kianna Howard of Fremont
Chueh-Wen Hsu of Fremont
Lynn Huang of Fremont
Rocky Kamen-Rubio of Berkeley
Miranda Kanowsky of Pleasanton
Haarika Kathi of Fremont
Rebecca Landau of Berkeley
Janis Lee of Fremont
Diana Lin of Pleasanton
Julliette Lucas of Oakland
Hairol Ma of Fremont
Chris Magallanes of Newark
Henry Mcclellan of Oakland
Hunter Milano of Pleasanton
Keturah Nobles of Oakland

Uma Paranjpe of Pleasanton
Collette Quach of Oakland
Rosa Rossi-Goldthorpe of
Berkeley
Aaroshi Sahgal of Fremont
Michelle Schantz of Castro Valley
Avi Shorer of Berkeley
Noah St. John of Berkeley
Emma Stumpf of Oakland
Willie Teng of Fremont
Sarah Tuning of Oakland
William Wrubel of Berkeley
Jessica Zhang of Fremont

NOW, THEREFORE, this Board of Supervisors, County of Alameda, State of California does hereby commend and give full recognition to the 42 Alameda County youth selected to be 2013 Alameda County Arts Scholars at this year's California State Summer School for the Arts, and wishes each student continued success.

KEITH CARSON, PRESIDENT	SCOTT HAGGERTY, VICE-PRESIDENT
SUPERVISOR, FIFTH DISTRICT	SUPERVISOR, FIRST DISTRICT
	RICHARD VALLE
	SUPERVISOR, SECOND DISTRICT
	WILMA CHAN
	SUPERVISOR, THIRD DISTRICT
	NATE MILEY
	SUPERVISOR, FOURTH DISTRICT