Skip County Header
Alameda County, CA,

Albert Lopez
Planning Director

Alameda County Planning Commission

The Commission consists of seven members appointed by the Alameda County Board of Supervisors. The supervisors representing Districts 1 and 4 are entitled to nominate two persons for membership on the commission. The remaining supervisors each nominate one person for membership on the commission. The appointment is subsequently confirmed by a majority of the Board of Supervisors.

The Commission serves in an advisory capacity to the Board of Supervisors. The duties of the Planning Commission consist of adopting and maintaining the General Plan, reviewing various development regulations to make recommendations on their adoption or amendment by the County Board of Supervisors, and reviewing and acting upon various development applications issued by the County. The County Planning Department assists and advises the Commission and provides staffing.

The County Planning Commission's jurisdiction is generally limited to the unincorporated area of the County (the area outside city limits). Each city in the County has its own planning commission.

The Commission generally meets on the first and third Mondays of each month. The first monthly meeting is scheduled to begin at 6:00 pm and the second monthly meeting is scheduled to begin at 1:30 pm. Meetings are held in the Public Hearing Room, 224 West Winton Avenue, Hayward.

To contact the Planning Commission, call the Planning Department at (510) 670-5400 or click on the Planning Commissioner's name to email them.

District Planning Commissioner Supervisor Date Term Expires
1st District Frank Imhof Sup. Haggerty December 31, 2011
  Alane Loisel Sup. Haggerty January 10, 2009
2nd District Glenn Kirby Sup. Steele December 31, 2010
3rd District Kathie Ready Sup. Lai Bitker July 18, 2010
4th District Ken Carbone, Chair Sup. Miley June 30, 2009
  Richard Rhodes Sup. Miley December 31, 2011
5th District Mike Jacob, Vice Chair Sup. Carson December 31, 2011

Planning Commission Administrative Secretary:
Nilma Singh

The Commission Administrative Secretary can be reached at (510) 670-5400

Alameda County sealAlameda County © 2016 • All Rights Reserved • Legal / DisclaimersAccessibility