Go to Sustainability homepage
photo of Alameda County's electric messenger vehicle

The County's sustainable fleet includes electric vehicles used by the internal messenger service.


Alameda County Transportation Services Recognized for Outstanding Sustainable Fleet Management

The North American Fleet Management Association's 2010 Sustainable Fleet Awards Program has recognized the County's efforts to green its motor vehicle fleet and employee commute programs. Current Transportation Services Manager Doug Bond was named #2 in one of three fleet management categories.

To make the County fleet more environmentally responsible, the Transportation Services Division of the Alameda County General Services Agency is moving toward electricity as an alternative fuel. To date, over $300,000 in outside funding has been secured to install publicly accessible electric vehicle charge points at County facilities throughout the East Bay; to purchase neighborhood electric vehicles for the internal messenger service fleet; and to fund the conversion of a Sheriff's Office pick-up truck to run on electricity.

The division's new Clean Commute Program encourages County employees to leave their car at home or carpool by providing them with services and incentives. In Oakland and San Leandro, two new shuttle services have been launched since fall 2009 to make County facilities easily accessible by BART train. A suite of employee incentives to take transit, bike, and carpool includes:

  • free coffee at educational meet-ups featuring representatives from 511.org and transit providers
  • free County parking for carpools of 3 or more employees
  • a guaranteed ride home in case of emergency or overtime work

NAFA Fleet Management Association has a large membership throughout the United States and Canada and divided its applicants into categories based on regulative environment and type of fleet vehicles. Alameda County was judged in the Mandated Clean Air Area category for sedan and light-truck fleets. For more information about this award, click here.