Your Government

Alameda County SealOne of 58 counties in California, Alameda County is home to over 1.6 million people living in 14 incorporated cities as well as in six unincorporated communities and rural areas throughout the 821 square miles of the County.

Alameda County is governed by a five-member Board of Supervisors directly elected by voters in their respective districts. The Board of Supervisors is responsible for providing policy direction, approving the County budget, and representing the County in a number of areas including its special districts. The County Administrator advises, assists, and acts as an agent for the Board of Supervisors in all matters under the Board’s jurisdiction.

Alameda County provides health care, social services, public protection, and general government programs for a population that is culturally and ethnically diverse. County services are provided to the citizens by more than 9,900 employees working in 21 different agencies and departments.

Alameda County FlagFifteen cents of every dollar you pay in property tax supports the vital services Alameda County provides to the people who live, work, and play here. And for every taxpayer dollar, the County receives nine dollars from other sources such as the state and federal governments to pay for mandated programs.

Altogether, the County spends, under the guidance of the Board of Supervisors, $3.1 billion annually to assist vulnerable residents, enforce the law, ensure justice, protect public health, and improve our quality of life.


County of Alameda
Administration Building
1221 Oak Street, Suite 555
Oakland, CA 94612


For questions or comments, please contact the appropriate department directly. If you aren't sure which department to contact, contact the County Operator at 510.208.9770 or visit the contact us page.