Go to Sustainability homepage
bay area county map.

About Alameda County

Alameda County's rich diversity in landscape, culture, industry, and ethnicities is one of its key features. Stretching from San Francisco Bay in the west to the East Bay hills and fertile wine country in the east, Alameda County's 738 square miles are home to more than 1.5 million people who live in urban centers (such as Oakland and Berkeley), smaller cities, suburbs, and rural communities.

Cities and Unincorporated Areas

Within its borders, Alameda County has 14 cities and 5 unincorporated areas. List of cities and city websites.

Our History

Alameda County

On March 25, 1853, an Act of Incorporation was signed creating a new county from parts of Contra Costa and Santa Clara Counties and Alameda County was "born." By 1860, there were 465 residents in the county. In the years since then, the County has grown into a rich, diverse population of more than 1.5 million who live and work in the County's urban, suburban, and rural communities.

Sustainability at the County

What began as energy conservation and recycling in the late 1980s with some of the first solar systems in the state has evolved into a broad cross-agency effort to improve quality of life for our residents and preserve our environment for future generations. Environment / Sustainability is integral to the County's Strategic Vision, adopted by the Board of Supervisors in 2008.